

Commission on Child Care Annual Planning Retreat: Meeting Minutes June 12, 2024-APPROVED

Location: Early Childhood Training Center, 1401 Rockville Pike, Lobby Level, Rockville, MD 20852

Members Present: Jennifer Arnaiz, L'Ornya Bowie, Elka Forbes, Niambi Heyward, Brandon Howard, Maya Massey, Eden Medhanie, Melissa Mitchell, Laurie Moran, Tara Philips, Nagwa Rizk, and Lesley Romanoff

Members Absent: Tracey Clay, Allison Fialkov, Yvonne Iscandari and Bill Polman

Staff Present: Erin Stilwell (DHHS)

Pre-Meeting Dinner and Conversation

Meeting Called to Order: Tara Phillips, CCC Chair, called the annal planning retreat to order at 6:28 pm

Introduction of New Commissioners:

- Niambi Heyward, Provider Representative
- Maya Massey, Business/General Public Representative
- Eden Medhanie, Provider Representative
- Melissa Jordan Mitchell, Provider (Retired) Representative

Ice Breaker

Review and Vote on April 24, 2024 meeting minutes

Action: Motion to accept the April 24, 2024 meeting minutes as written: Tara Phillips

2nd:: L'Ornya Bowie

All in Favor

Election for Chair and Vice Chair: The CCC opened the floor for a final call for nomination for the chair and vice chair positions to serve during the 2024-25 commission year. No nominations were provided. Current slate includes Brandon Howard and Elka Forbes. Commissioners decided to elect two co-chairs, Brandon Howard and Elka Forbes.

Action: Election by acclamation

Brief Update and Discussion on MSDE Provider Credentialing Program (Jennifer Arnaiz)

Commission Retreat Business

Announcements: The CCC said farewell to L'Ornya Bowie who has served on the CCC since 2016.

Adjournment: Meeting was adjourned at 8:03 pm

The Commission will take a summer recess and convene again on September 25, 2024